7 National Teacher Awards to Follow

Teachers deserve a great deal of recognition. Few would argue with this sentiment, and most agree that teachers deserve a great deal more recognition than they normally get. Students move from grade to grade, school to school, and have countless teachers that help them along the way. Chances are, they don’t get to thank every teacher the way they would like.

Teachers don’t teach because they are expecting a thank you, but that doesn’t mean recognition is not appreciated! Thankfully, many corporations and organizations do their part to acknowledge and reward teachers that put forth an exemplary effort. Here are 7 national teaching awards to follow each year:

1. CCSSO National Teacher of the Year Award:

The Council of Chief State School Officers is a national, nonpartisan organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education across the country. The CCSSO also sponsors a National Teacher of the Year program that has been happening since 1952. The National Teacher of the Year is announced every April.

2. Milken Family Foundation Educator Award:

The Milken Family Foundation boasts the “nation’s preeminent teacher recognition program”.  The program, sponsored by the Milken family, has honored more than 2,500 teachers, principals and specialists with over $63 million in $25,000 awards. The Milken family is dedicated to leading advances in education and medical research.

3. National Science Teachers Association:

The National Science Teachers Association runs a more specific award ceremony, recognizing the best science teacher of the year. The NSTA doesn’t give just one award, however. Their award list includes 18 awards for science teachers around the country.Check out the website for entry details.

4. NCSS Outstanding Social Studies Teacher of the Year:

The NCSS honors a social studies teacher every year for their dedication to the subject and their students. Nominees must be NCSS members, but can teach social studies to students in grades K-12. Award winners receive $2,500, as well as membership to the NCSS for another year.

5. National Child Care Teacher Awards:

The Terri Lynne Lokoff Child Care Foundation gives an annual award to recognize a distinguished early child care teacher. Fifty teachers are selected, one of whom receives the Helene Marks Award as National Child Care Teacher of the Year. The foundation awards recipients $1,000 – $500 for the teacher’s personal use and $500 to implement the enhancement project they propose.

6. History Teacher of the Year:

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History awards the National History Teacher of the Year title each year as a means of promoting the love of American History. One national winner receives a $10,000 prize, while state winners are awarded $1,000 and an archive of classroom resources.

7. Whitehouse National Teacher of the Year:

The president of the United States honors a national teacher of the year. On May 3rd, President Obama honored AP chemistry teacher Michelle Shearer as the 2011 winner in a speech. Check out the full video on the Whitehouse blog.

Subscribe to Certification Map’s monthly newsletter to receive updates about teacher certification, education news and much more.